Australasian Web Conference (AWC) 2018

January 29-February 2, 2018, The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia


ACE 2018

AISC 2018

APCCM 2018

AUIC 2018


HIKM 2018

IE 2018

About AWC

Australasian Web Conference (AWC) is a successful series of conferences that serves as an Australasian and an international forum, to be held in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. The fourth AWC focuses on presenting original contributions on research, development, and applications, related to all fields of Web research.

AWC is part of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW). Registration to the Australasian Computer Science Conference enables delegates to attend sessions in any conference participating in ACSW. The proceedings will be included in the ACM digital library and indexed on Scopus and DBLP.

The World Wide Web continues to play a transformative role in all walks of life. It also provides a platform for exciting and innovative research on a wide range of themes. AWC 2018 aims to bring together researchers and PhD students who work on topics related to the Web in an effort to highlight the state-of-the-art, to discuss critical issues and opportunities, and to explore new research directions.


  • Could computing
  • Crowdsourcing and Crowdsensing
  • Deep Web
  • Emerging Web techniques
  • Information retrieval
  • Interfaces and accessibility
  • Interoperability and heterogeneous systems
  • Linked open data
  • Mashups
  • Mobile Web
  • Performance, scalability and availability
  • Personalisation and recommender systems
  • Security and privacy
  • Semantic Web
  • Social networks and communities
  • Social Web and analytics
  • Web mining
  • Web of things
  • Web search
  • Web services and service-oriented computing
  • XML and semi-structured data management

Important Dates

Sunday 10 September 2017 11:59pm Sunday 8 October 2017 Paper Submissions Close

Monday 23 October 2017 Author Notifications distributed

Monday 6 November 2017 Camera-ready full papers due

General Chair

Yan Wang, Macquarie University

Programme Chairs

Qiang He, Swinburne University of Technology

Young Choon Lee, Macquarie University

Paper Format & Submission

Accepted papers of AWC will be in the ACSW Proceedings and published by ACM this year. Papers should be formatted according to ACM conference paper formatting guidelines ACM SIG Proceedings Templates. Submissions must be in English. A paper must clearly state the problem being addressed, the goal of the work, the results achieved, and the relation to other work.

Papers should be submitted electronically in PDF format via the ACSW EasyChair submission site, Once you log in EasyChair system, click on the "new submission" button, then all the satellite conferences and workshops are in the following page. The authors have to choose appropriate satellite conferences or workshops for your papers.

Submissions must not exceed 10 pages for full papers and 4 pages for short papers. Submissions must be original contributions that have not been published previously, nor already submitted to other conferences or journals in parallel with this conference. Each submission will be peer reviewed by at least three program committee members.

Programme Committee

  • Andres Baravalle, University of East London
  • Athman Bouguettaya, The University of Sydney
  • Yawen Chen, University of Otago
  • Hai Dong, RMIT University
  • Renato Iannella, Semantic Identity
  • Qinghua Lu, NICTA
  • Jiangang Ma, University of Victoria
  • Alistair Moffat, University of Melbourne
  • Hamid Motahari, IBM Almaden Research Center
  • Lanshun Nie, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  • Fethi Rabhi, The University of New South Wales
  • Hong-Linh Truong, TU Wien
  • Anton Uzunov, Defence Science and Technology Organization
  • Hua Wang, Victoria University
  • Xiwei Xu, CSIRO
  • Weiqi Yan, Auckland University of Technology
  • Lianghuai Yang, Zhejiang University of Technology
  • Muhammad Younas, Oxford Brookes University
  • Dong Yuan, The University of Sydney
  • Qingpeng Zhang, City University of Hong Kong
  • Weiliang Zhao, acquarie University
  • Helen Paik, The University of New South Wales
  • Seung Rye, The University of New South Wales
  • Mohammadreza Hoseinyfarahabady, The University of Sydney
  • Sooyong Kang, Hanyan University
  • Wei Qi Yan, Auckland University of Technology
  • Dayong Ye, Swinburne University